Bath Philharmonia

Bath Philharmonia

Saturday 18th July at 7.30pm
St Peter’s Church

Cello – Laura van der Heijden
Violin – Sophie Langdon
Conductor – Jason Thornton

Vivaldi: Cello Concerto in D major RV403
Max Richter: The Four Seasons Recomposed
Vivaldi: Cello Concerto in E minor RV409

For the closing concert of this year’s Festival we are delighted to welcome Bath Philharmonia with two of Britain’s finest string soloists. Over twenty years Bath Phil has gained a reputation for its high-quality innovative performances as well as its cutting-edge creative learning work.

Max Richter’s work blurs genre boundaries and merges traditional orchestral instruments with sound technology. Taking Vivaldi’s masterpiece as his starting point, Richter reinterprets Vivaldi’s music with a 21st century accent, in which the listener can hear the beauty of nature as Vivaldi did, but also the 21st century society’s own anxiety regarding global warming, deforestation and pollution.  Leading violinist and Bath Philharmonia Leader Sophie Langdon performs Richter’s reinterpreted solos. As well as being one of the leading violinists of her generation, she is also a Professor of Violin at the Royal Academy of Music. Her career encompasses concerto performance with many major orchestras as well as chamber music.

Separating Richter’s Seasons, Bath Philharmonia presents original Vivaldi with two of his greatest cello concertos from the 18th century, performed by one of Britain’s finest young cellists. Laura van der Heijden rose to fame when she won the title of BBC Young Musician in 2012. She has since embarked on an impressive career playing in the greatest concert halls across the world.

6.30pm Pre-Concert Talk. Jason Thornton in conversation with Sophie Langdon and Laura van der Heijden at the Temple Methodist Church. Exclusively for Festival Friends on production of a current Membership Card

See Bath Philharmonia perform on YouTube

See Laura van der Heijden perform on YouTube

See Sophie Langdon perform on YouTube

See Max Richter – 4 Seasons Recomposed on YouTube